Medway Elects

4 May 2000


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Shaw John ChristopherJohn Christopher Shaw * Labour 784 19.6%
  Shaw Julie NoraJulie Nora Shaw * Labour 734 18.3%
  Wyper James GoldieJames Goldie Wyper * Labour 719 17.9%
  Beavan Alan GordonAlan Gordon Beavan Conservative 458 11.4%
  Beavan Nora JeanneNora Jeanne Beavan Conservative 434 10.8%
  Price Dennis HenryDennis Henry Price Conservative 433 10.8%
  Luckhurst AntoinetteAntoinette Luckhurst Liberal Democrat 163 4.1%
  Lewcock Christopher PeterChristopher Peter Lewcock Liberal Democrat 144 3.6%
  Luckhurst Vincent JosephVincent Joseph Luckhurst Liberal Democrat 139 3.5%
Turnout 19.8%
  Labour hold
  Labour hold
  Labour hold

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election
« 1 May 1997

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives