Medway Elects
Gillingham South

7 May 2015


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Johnson Clive Stanley WilliamClive Stanley William Johnson Labour 1,994 11.2%
  Khan Naushabah ParveenNaushabah Parveen Khan Labour 1,909 10.7%
  McDonald DanDan McDonald Labour 1,877 10.6%
  Allen TerryTerry Allen Ukip 1,777 10.0%
  Ahmed SaboorSaboor Ahmed Conservative 1,537 8.6%
  Farrell JohnJohn Farrell Ukip 1,469 8.3%
  McCulloch Martin RobRob McCulloch Martin Ukip 1,413 7.9%
  Griffiths Shirley Margaret PamelaShirley Margaret Pamela Griffiths Conservative 1,405 7.9%
  Amey John RichardJohn Richard Amey Conservative 1,343 7.5%
  Juby GeoffGeoff Juby * Liberal Democrat 871 4.9%
  Jeacock TonyTony Jeacock Liberal Democrat 697 3.9%
  Sams ChrisChris Sams Liberal Democrat 629 3.5%
  Marchant Simon PhilipSimon Philip Marchant Green party 552 3.1%
  Berry JacquiJacqui Berry TUSC 316 1.8%
Turnout 57.3%
  Labour gain from Liberal Democrat
  Labour gain from Liberal Democrat
  Labour hold

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Rejected Ballots

The number of votes rejected and not counted at this election was:

Want of official mark 0
Voting for more than the permitted number of candidates 9
Writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 0
Unmarked or voided for uncertainty 50
Total 59

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election Next election
« 5 May 2011 2 May 2019 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives