Medway Elects

31 March - 27 April 1880


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Arthur Otway * Liberal 1,497 27.2
  Roger Leigh Conservative 1,393 25.3
  Walter Scott Seton-Karr Conservative 1,312 23.9
  Julian Goldsmid * Liberal 1,294 23.5
Majority 104 1.9
Turnout 5,496 90.8
  Conservative gain from Liberal
  Liberal hold

* Denotes member of parliament standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Previous election Next election
« 14 June 1878 24 November - 18 December 1885 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives