Medway Elects

1 May 1997


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Chance Eileen EnaEileen Ena Chance Liberal Democrat 1,525 12.9%
  Hattersley Carol AnneCarol Anne Hattersley Conservative 1,505 12.7%
  Gardner Ada EmilyAda Emily Gardner Conservative 1,494 12.6%
  Hattersley Clifton ThomasClifton Thomas Hattersley Conservative 1,441 12.2%
  Liyanage Dayantha PorambeDayantha Porambe Liyanage Liberal Democrat 1,418 12.0%
  Williams Roy FrederickRoy Frederick Williams Liberal Democrat 1,407 11.9%
  Davies Helen Georgina RubyHelen Georgina Ruby Davies Labour 1,084 9.2%
  Lyon Harry VictorHarry Victor Lyon Labour 1,031 8.7%
  Martin Gail AlisonGail Alison Martin Labour 936 7.9%
  Conservative win (new ward)
  Conservative win (new ward)
  Liberal Democrat win (new ward)

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Next election
4 May 2000 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives