Medway Elects

Elections for the Kent Police and Crime Commissioner

Elections are held across Kent every four years to elect a police and crime commissioner for the county. Voting and counting is co-ordinated by each local authority within Kent, with a final result declared once all local authorities have confirmed how people in their district have voted.

Until 2024, the police and crime commissioner was elected by the alternative vote electoral system (AV). Under AV, every voter has a first and second preference vote. Once all the first preference votes have been counted, a candidate is only elected if they have received more than 50% of the votes cast. If no candidate receives more than 50% of the votes, all but the two highest polling candidates are eliminated and their second preference votes are allocated to the remaining candidates, where applicable.

From the 2024 election, police and crime commissioner elections will take place using the first past the post electoral system (FPTP). Under FPTP, every voter has one vote and the candidate with the highest number of votes is elected.


The following elections for the Kent police and crime commissioner have taken place in Medway since the role was established in 2012:

To view the results for each election, click on the election date above.

Medway Vote Share

Kent Vote Share

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with minimal advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!
Your Representatives