Medway Elects
Temple Farm

1 May 1997


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Housby HarryHarry Housby Labour 1,933 19.0%
  Hull VernonVernon Hull Labour 1,777 17.5%
  Munton DerekDerek Munton Labour 1,685 16.6%
  Etheridge Gary David JamesGary David James Etheridge Conservative 1,164 11.4%
  Etheridge Jane ElizabethJane Elizabeth Etheridge Conservative 1,155 11.4%
  Miller William DavidWilliam David Miller Conservative 961 9.4%
  Major Audrey MayAudrey May Major Liberal Democrat 565 5.6%
  Stone Pauline MaryPauline Mary Stone Liberal Democrat 548 5.4%
  Wastell Janette LesleyJanette Lesley Wastell Liberal Democrat 382 3.8%
  Labour win (new ward)
  Labour win (new ward)
  Labour win (new ward)

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Next election
4 May 2000 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives