Medway Elects

Rochester By-election
16 April 1889

A by-election was held in Rochester on 16 April 1889 to elect a member of parliament for the constituency following the resignation of Conservative MP Francis Hughes-Hallett.

The Conservatives won the previous election in 1886 with a majority of 249. At this election, the Liberals gained the seat from the Conservatives with a majority of 75.

Edward Knatchbull-Hugessen was elected as the member of parliament for Rochester.


The following result was declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Votes %
  Majority 75 2.3
  Turnout 3,235 91.1
  Liberal gain from Conservative

To order the candidates by name or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Previous election Next election
« 1 - 27 July 1886 4 - 26 July 1892 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with minimal advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!
Your Representatives