Medway Elects

3 May 1979


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Frederick Burden * Conservative 26,791 53.1
  Stephen Sidney Earnest William Love Labour 16,292 32.3
  David Philip Sidebottom Liberal 6,219 12.3
  Sidney George Campbell National Front 528 1.0
  Colin Richard Fry Ecology party 501 1.0
  Terence Frederick Beckwith Workers Revolutionary party 92 0.2
Majority 10,499 20.8
Turnout 50,423 78.9
  Conservative hold

* Denotes member of parliament standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Previous election Next election
« 10 October 1974 9 June 1983 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives