Medway Elects
Chatham and Aylesford

1 May 1997


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Jonthan Shaw Labour 21,191 43.1
  Richard Knox-Johnston Conservative 18,401 37.4
  Robin Murray Liberal Democrat 7,389 15.0
  Keith Riddle Referendum party 1,538 3.1
  Alan Harding Ukip 493 1.0
  Timothy Martel Natural Law party 149 0.3
Majority 2,790 5.7
Turnout 49,161 71.1
  Labour win (new constituency)

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Next election
7 June 2001 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives