Medway Elects
Luton and Wayfield By-election

3 September 2009

A by-election was held in Luton and Wayfield ward on 3 September 2009 to elect one councillor following the resignation of Labour councillor Dennis McFarlane.

Prior to the by-election, the seat was held by Labour. Following the by-election, the Conservatives gained the seat from Labour.

Tashi Bhutia was elected as councillor for the ward.


The following result was declared by the returning officer:

  Candidate Votes %
  Turnout 29.8%
  Conservative gain from Labour

To order the candidates by name or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Rejected Ballots

The number of votes rejected and not counted at this election was:

  Want of official mark 0
Voting for more than one candidate 1
Writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 0
Unmarked or voided for uncertainty 3
Total 4

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, which uses the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election Next election
« 3 May 2007 5 May 2011 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with minimal advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!
Your Representatives