Medway Elects

1 May 1997


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Paul Clark Labour 20,187 39.8
  James Couchman * Conservative 18,207 35.9
  Robert Sayer Liberal Democrat 9,649 19.0
  Geoffrey Cann Referendum party 1,492 2.9
  Craig Mackinlay Ukip 590 1.2
  David Robinson Official Monster Raving Loony party 305 0.6
  Christopher Jury British National party 195 0.4
  Gabriel Duguay Natural Law Party 58 0.1
Majority 1,980 3.9
Turnout 50,683 72.0
  Labour gain from Conservative

* Denotes member of parliament standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Previous election Next election
« 9 April 1992 7 June 2001 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives