Medway Elects

4 May 2000


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Crane Christine JoyceChristine Joyce Crane * Conservative 678 16.6%
  Doe Howard FrancisHoward Francis Doe Conservative 652 16.0%
  Pearce Emily DawnEmily Dawn Pearce Conservative 610 15.0%
  Chance Eileen EnaEileen Ena Chance * Liberal Democrats 500 12.3%
  Beal John DavidJohn David Beal Liberal Democrats 489 12.0%
  Foad Catherine MaryCatherine Mary Foad Liberal Democrats 428 10.5%
  Clark Rodney JamesRodney James Clark Labour 266 6.5%
  Godwin ChristineChristine Godwin Labour 229 5.6%
  Joy Raymond CliffordRaymond Clifford Joy Labour 222 5.4%
Turnout 24.2%
  Conservative gain from Liberal Democrats
  Conservative hold
  Conservative hold

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election
« 1 May 1997

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives