Medway Elects

4 May 2000


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Esterson WilliamWilliam Esterson * Labour 707 16.2%
  Godwin PaulPaul Godwin * Labour 687 15.7%
  Smith StuartStuart Smith * Labour 677 15.5%
  Brighouse Mary Irene AliceMary Irene Alice Brighouse Conservative 580 13.3%
  Hoare Roger Alfred ThomasRoger Alfred Thomas Hoare Conservative 532 12.2%
  Brighouse Ronald John DavidRonald John David Brighouse Conservative 516 11.8%
  Patel YogeshYogesh Patel Liberal Democrat 256 5.9%
  Steddy Gillian LesleyGillian Lesley Steddy Liberal Democrat 208 4.8%
  Sinclaire Nicole CarolineNicole Caroline Sinclaire Ukip 201 4.6%
Turnout 23.5%
  Labour hold
  Labour hold
  Labour hold

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election
« 1 May 1997

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support us going into #MedwayElects19 & beyond!
Your Representatives