Medway Elects
Gillingham South

3 May 2007


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Kearney SheilaSheila Kearney Liberal Democrat 1,720 18.4%
  Juby GeoffGeoff Juby * Liberal Democrat 1,706 18.3%
  Kearney SteveSteve Kearney * Liberal Democrat 1,704 18.2%
  Holman PamPam Holman Labour 693 7.4%
  Gill Sucha SinghSucha Singh Gill Labour 675 7.2%
  Smith JimJim Smith Labour 626 6.7%
  Gilbert-Jupp John MichaelJohn Michael Gilbert-Jupp Conservative 575 6.2%
  Harries Carol AnnCarol Ann Harries Conservative 487 5.2%
  Hattersley Clifton ThomasClifton Thomas Hattersley Conservative 469 5.0%
  Ravenscroft Brian ChristianBrian Christian Ravenscroft British National party 423 4.5%
  Gizzi PeterPeter Gizzi Ukip 268 2.9%
Turnout 35.2%
  Liberal Democrat hold
  Liberal Democrat hold
  Liberal Democrat hold

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election Next election
« 1 May 2003 5 May 2011 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives