Medway Elects
Gillingham and Rainham

12 December 2019


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Rehman Chishti * Conservative 28,173 61.3
  Andy Stamp Labour 13,054 28.4
  Alan James Bullion Liberal Democrats 2,503 5.4
  George Bernard Salomon Green party 1,043 2.3
  Rob McCulloch Martin Ukip 837 1.8
  Peter Cook Independent 229 0.5
  Roger James Peacock Christian Peoples Alliance 119 0.3
Majority 15,119 32.9
Turnout 45,958 62.7
  Conservative hold

* Denotes member of parliament standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Rejected Ballots

The number of votes rejected and not counted at this election was:

Want of official mark 0
Voting for more than one candidate 14
Writing or marks by which the voter could be identified 2
Unmarked or voided for uncertainty 122
Total 138

Vote Share

Vote Change


Previous election
« 8 June 2017

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives