Medway Elects
Find your #GE2019 candidates
Find your #GE2019 candidates
Selection of Mayor and Deputy Mayor

5 March 2009


Members received a report setting out the results of the calculations under council rule 19 to select the mayor and deputy mayor for the 2009/2010 municipal year and, in addition setting out the motion to amend the council's constitution as moved by the leader of the council, Councillor Rodney Chambers at the meeting of council on 16 January 2009 as follows:

That Rule 19 - nomination of mayor and deputy mayor shall be removed and replaced by the following:

19.1: The mayor shall be elected by the council from among the councillors at the annual meeting and, unless a casual vacancy occurs, the mayor shall continue in office until a successor is elected.

19.2: The deputy mayor shall also be elected by the council from among the councillors at the annual meeting.

19.3 Except in the year of Medway council elections, the council at its ordinary meeting before the annual meeting shall nominate candidates to be recommended for election as mayor and deputy mayor at the annual meeting.

The leader, supported by the portfolio holder for finance, Councillor Jarrett proposed the motion but clarified that, if approved this would take effect from the 2010/2011 municipal year.

On being put to the vote, the motion was carried.

Vote Result

Votes by Councillor

For For For 30

The following councillors voted in favour of the motion:

Against Against Against 21

The following councillors voted against the motion:

Absent Absent Absent 4

The following councillors were absent from the vote:

To view the list of councillors who voted in favour or against the motion, those who abstained and those who were absent, click on the appropriate heading.

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support us going into #MedwayElects19 & beyond!
Your Representatives