Medway Elects
Strood Rural

1 May 2003


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Mason ThomasThomas Mason * Conservative 1,681 20.2%
  Bamber KennethKenneth Bamber * Conservative 1,565 18.8%
  Wicks LeslieLeslie Wicks * Conservative 1,534 18.4%
  Fribbins Christopher JohnChristopher John Fribbins Labour 898 10.8%
  Wallis EricEric Wallis Labour 742 8.9%
  Hawkins JuliaJulia Hawkins Labour 728 8.7%
  Williams JohnJohn Williams Ukip 282 3.4%
  Stamp Janice MargaretJanice Margaret Stamp Liberal Democrat 271 3.3%
  Martin Ian PeterIan Peter Martin * Independent 241 2.9%
  Gray Susan LesleySusan Lesley Gray Liberal Democrat 200 2.4%
  Gates Philip AdrianPhilip Adrian Gates Liberal Democrat 194 2.3%
  Conservative win (new ward)
  Conservative win (new ward)
  Conservative win (new ward)

* Denotes a councillor standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Next election
3 May 2007 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives