Medway Elects
Gillingham and Rainham

6 May 2010


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Rehman Chishti Conservative 21,624 46.2
  Paul Gordon Clark * Labour 12,944 27.7
  Andrew Stamp Liberal Democrat 8,484 18.1
  Bob Oakley Ukip 1,515 3.2
  Brian Christian Ravenscroft British National party 1,149 2.5
  Dean Robert Lacey English Democrat 464 1.0
  Trish Marchant Green party 356 0.8
  Gordon Craig Bryan Independent 141 0.3
  George Geoffrey Meegan Medway Independent party 109 0.2
Majority 8,680 18.6
Turnout 46,786 66.0
  Conservative win (new constituency)

* Denotes member of parliament standing for re-election

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Election Expenses by Candidate

Candidates have individual limits on the amount they can spend during the election campaign. The limit for each candidate in Gillingham and Rainham in 2010 was £10,686.70 for the short campaign (the period beginning the day the individual officially becomes a candidate) and £28,536.70 for the long campaign.

Candidate Long Campaign Short Campaign Total Expenses £ per Vote
  Paul Gordon Clark £13,324.39 £9,380.45 £22,704.84 £1.75
  Rehman Chishti £14,979.54 £7,329.52 £22,309.06 £1.03
  Andrew Stamp £2,772.70 £5,847.77 £8,620.47 £1.02
  George Geoffrey Meegan £627.69 £0.00 £627.69 £5.76
  Gordon Craig Bryan £0.00 £603.13 £603.13 £4.28
  Dean Robert Lacey £500.00 £0.00 £500.00 £1.08
  Brian Christian Ravenscroft £0.00 £400.00 £400.00 £0.35
  Bob Oakley £0.00 £0.00 £0.00 £0.00
  Trish Marchant £0.00 £0.00 £0.00 £0.00

To order the candidates by name, amount spent or the cost per vote received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Election Expenses

Next election
7 May 2015 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England are currently reviewing Medway's ward boundaries. The new boundaries are expected to increase the number of councillors in Medway from 55 to 59 and will be introduced for the next elections to Medway council in 2023. They have launched a public consultation for residents and organisations in Medway to help them decide where the boundaries should be drawn. The consultation is open until 2 March 2020, with draft recommendations due to be published in June 2020. You can have your say on the new boundaries by clicking the button below, which will take you to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's consultation.

Medway Elects is not affiliated with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and is not responsible for the content of their website or the conduct of their boundary review.

Your Representatives