Medway Elects
Find your #MedwayElects19 results
Find your #MedwayElects19 results

1 May 1997


The following results were declared by the Returning Officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Esterson WilliamWilliam Esterson Labour 2,075 19.3%
  Godwin PaulPaul Godwin Labour 1,985 18.5%
  Smith David StuartDavid Stuart Smith Labour 1,906 17.7%
  Bird Agnes WrightAgnes Wright Bird Conservative 1,177 10.9%
  Coomber Pamela AnnPamela Ann Coomber Conservative 1,141 10.6%
  Filmer PhilipPhilip Filmer Conservative 1,092 10.2%
  Gray Ernest WalterErnest Walter Gray Liberal Democrat 501 4.7%
  Hartup PaulPaul Hartup Liberal Democrat 463 4.3%
  Pellowe TheresaTheresa Pellowe Liberal Democrat 412 3.8%
  Labour and Co-operative win (new ward)
  Labour and Co-operative win (new ward)
  Labour and Co-operative win (new ward)

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Next election
4 May 2000 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support us going into #MedwayElects19 & beyond!
Your Representatives