Medway Elects
Find your #GE2019 candidates
Find your #GE2019 candidates
Gillingham South By-election

19 February 1998


The following results were declared by the returning officer:

Candidate Party Votes %
  Liyanage Dayantha PorambeDayantha Porambe Liyanage Liberal Democrat 656 54.3%
  Holman Pamela MargaretPamela Margaret Holman Labour 372 30.8%
  Hunter RoyRoy Hunter Conservative 180 14.9%
  Liberal Democrat hold

To order the candidates by name, party or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, i.e. using only the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election Next election
« 1 May 1997 4 May 2000 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support us going into #MedwayElects19 & beyond!
Your Representatives