Medway Elects

River By-election
12 August 2010

A by-election was held in River ward on 12 August 2010 to elect one councillor following the resignation of Labour councillor Bill Esterson.

Prior to the by-election, the seat was held by Labour. Following the by-election, the Conservatives gained the seat from Labour.

David George Craggs was elected as councillor for the ward.


The following result was declared by the returning officer:

  Candidate Votes %
  Conservative gain from Labour

To order the candidates by name or number of votes received, click on the appropriate column heading.

Vote Share

Vote Change


Vote share for the ward is calculated using the "top vote" method, which uses the candidate from each party with the highest number of votes.

Previous election Next election
« 3 May 2007 21 October 2010 »

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with minimal advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support our ongoing running costs!
Your Representatives