Medway Elects
Find your #MedwayElects19 candidates
Find your #MedwayElects19 candidates
European Parliament

The European Parliament is the directly-elected parliamentary institution of the European Union. It shares its legislative function with the Council of the European Union (composed of government ministers of the 28 member states) and the European Commission (composed of 28 commissioners appointed by each of the member states). The European Parliament cannot propose its own legislation, but in most cases shares equal legislative and budgetary powers with the Council of the European Union and holds the European Commission to account (in particular, by approving appointments, electing the President of the Commission and possessing the initiative to force the Commission to resign).

The 28 member states elect 751 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs). There is no universal voting system, with each member state being allowed to choose its own proportional method. Most member states constitute a single constituency, but are free to divide their area up if it will not have an adverse affect on the proportional nature of the election. The United Kingdom elects 73 MEPs across 12 constituencies using the "d'Hondt method" of party list proportional representation.

Candidates will usually stand under their national political party, but, if elected, must sit with one of the authorised political groups or as an unattached member (known as a non-inscrit). MEPs from the same UK party usually sit within the same politicl group, unless they decide (or are asked) to sit as a non-inscrit.

Following the tabling of The European Parliamentary Elections (Appointed Day of Poll) Order 2019, a further election to the European Parliament will be held on 23 May 2019 if the United Kingdom is still a member of the European Union on that date. This page will be updated to reflect the date of that election and the candidates standing if such an election does take place.

Members of the European Parliament

Medway forms part of the South East England Constituency, which is currently represented in the European Parliament by ten Members of the European Parliament (MEPs).

Medway is currently represented in the European Parliament by:

Richard Ashworth
  16 Apr 2019 -
  16 Jul 2004 - 16 Apr 2019

Janice Atkinson
  19 Mar 2015 -
  1 Jul 2014 - 19 Mar 2015

Catherine Bearder
  4 Jun 2009 -

Nirj Deva
  10 Jun 1999 -

Nigel Farage
  13 Feb 2019 -
  4 Dec 2018 - 13 Feb 2019
  10 Jun 1999 - 4 Dec 2018

Ray Finch
  17 Apr 2019 -
  1 Jul 2014 - 17 Apr 2019

Daniel Hannan
  10 Jun 1999 -

John Howarth
  30 Jun 2017 -

Diane James
  12 Feb 2019 -
  21 Nov 2016 - 12 Feb 2019
  1 Jul 2014 - 21 Nov 2016

Keith Taylor
  6 May 2010 -

To see who else has represented Medway in the European Parliament, please go here.

Elections to the European Parliament

The following elections have taken place in Medway since 1979:

South East England
23 May 2019

South East England
22 May 2014

South East England
4 June 2009

South East England
10 June 2004

South East England
10 June 1999

Kent West
9 June 1994

Kent West
15 June 1989

Kent West
14 June 1984

Kent West
7 June 1979

To view the results for each election, click on the election date above.

Did you know? Medway Elects is an independent project with no advertising income and no super-rich donors. If you have found our service useful, please consider supporting us with a regular monthly donation on Patreon or buy us a coffee to help support us going into #MedwayElects19 & beyond!
Your Representatives